Browse Books for Kids

1 - 15 of 105 Results (Kids Books Starting With "S")
Sort By
Go To   of 7
>
# A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
S is for Salmon: A Pacific Northwest Alphabet
Author: Hannah Viano
Format: Hardcover
  • In this beautiful ABC book, C is for Crab; D is for Douglas fir; and E is for Eagle. Based on Pacific Northwest artist Hannah Viano’s regionally themed paper-cut art, this lovely children’s book sheds a new light on the ABCs that will appeal to young and old alike. Fans of Nikki McClure and Kate Endle will appreciate the beautiful handmade appeal of this book.

$19.99

Quantity:
Sacred Stories: Wisdom from World Religions
Format: Paperback
  • This comprehensive collection of timeless and powerful stories puts the wisdom of world religions in the hands of young readers.

    When attempting to find a simple, engaging, and unbiased approach to world religions for her own family, Marilyn McFarlane discovered such a book did not exist. Understanding how important it is for children to build both respect for and knowledge of a variety of religions, regardless of their own faith, McFarlane created Sacred Stories: Wisdom from World Religions.

    Each captivating story and accompanying sidebar facts and spot illustrations brings to life the key tenets of a particular belief system, while the comprehensive glossary and resource list enable readers to expand their explorations. Including easy-to-understand descriptions and essential stories from Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Native American, and Sacred Earth, Sacred Stories is perfect for parents and teachers who want to expand young readers’ understanding of world traditions.

    The simple, informative, unbiased language of Sacred Stories, combined with its comprehensive resource list and glossary, makes it an ideal learning tool for teachers, librarians, and other educators.

$22.99

Quantity:
Sagkeeng Legends (Sagkeeng Aadizookaanag): Stories By John C. Courchene
Format: Paperback
  • John C. Courchene was born in Sagkeeng First Nation in 1914, where he attended the Fort Alexander Indian Residential School. Courchene’s time in the residential school was short; his brothers, "Joejay" and Louis, took John out of school so he could help them cut wood in the bush. While this helped John make a lifetime commitment to hard work, it also resulted in John being “illiterate” in the European sense of the word. In the ways of the forest and his native language, Anishanabemowin, however, John was far from illiterate. Sagkeeng Legends is a testament to John’s cultural literacy and a monument in the face of eroding Indigenous language and culture caused by centuries of colonization.

    Originally recorded by John’s wife, Josephine Courchene, in the early 1980s and reprinted here in both English and Anishanabemowin by Craig Fontaine, the stories in Sagkeeng Legends represent two pebbles where a mountain of knowledge once stood. Nonetheless, this book is an important act of preserving and reintroducing Indigenous language and culture to a new generation.

$14.95

Quantity:
Saila and Betty
Traditional Territory: Inuit
Format: Paperback
  • F&P Level: I

    Saila the seal wishes he could fly. But his friend Betty the bird helps him learn that he is special in his own way! This fun animal story teaches children the value of being yourself. The simple storyline and supportive illustrations make it a perfect choice for kids who are beginning to read longer stories on their own.

$6.95

Quantity:
Salmon Boy
Author: Donna Joe
Traditional Territory: Sechelt
Format: Paperback
  • Simple and compelling First Nations drawings illustrate this dynamic story that teaches respect for the environment and describes the life cycle of the salmon.

$8.95

Quantity:
Salmon Creek
Author: Annette LeBox
Format: Paperback
  • One of the most fascinating stories in nature is the life cycle of the Pacific salmon. This lyrical, beautiful picture book tells the story of one coho, Sumi, from her birth in a remote creek, to her final hours when she spawns and then dies.

    All the phases of Sumi's life are shown, from her trip down river to the ocean, her time as a fully mature fish swimming in the great seas, to the most fascinating and mysterious period in the life cycle of these magic animals - the determined return to her birthplace.

    Many thousands of people come to witness these last moving moments in the lives of salmon. As wild salmon become rarer due to our exploitation of their environment and the consequent destruction of their habitat, as well as our abusive overfishing practices, their story engages us more than ever. This book is a plea for the protection of salmon and of the natural world they inhabit. An afterword presents the factual basis for the book and amplifies on the poetic text.

$14.95

Quantity:
Salmon Forest
Author: David Suzuki
Format: Paperback
  • New in paper, David Suzuki and Sarah Ellis's charming and informative text, accompanied by Sheena Lott's exquisite watercolors, magically evoke the spirit and mystery of the West Coast rain forest. Together, text and illustrations illuminate the interconnectedness of the forest and the sea and of all life.Salmon Forest is recommended by Curriculum Services Canada and is published in partnership with the David Suzuki Foundation.

$12.95

Quantity:
Salmon Stream
Format: Paperback
  • Named a prestigious CBC/NSTA Outstanding Science Trade Book, this is a poetic yet accurate description of the life cycle of salmon. For kids, it is fun and eye-opening. For teachers, it is a valuable supplement to a unit on water, fish and ocean animals, and the life cycle. Fast-paced prose and brilliant illustrations follow the salmon from their form as eggs in a stream to the wide ocean, eventually making a hazardous journey home to their stream of origin. As in her earlier best-selling book, The Tree in the Ancient Forest, author Carol Reed-Jones uses cumulative verse--a literary technique that is not only enjoyable but suggests how interconnected salmon are with their habitat. At the back is a section on salmon facts and what makes a good habitat for them, teaching the basics of ecology and why clean streams and waters are so important.

    (ages 6-12)

$13.95

Quantity:
Salmon to Share
Author: Terri Mack
Format: Paperback
  • Level 3

    Illustrated by Bill Helin.

    Back cover book introduction:
    Baby Bear likes to share salmon with
    his friends.
    Who do you think could be some of Baby Bear’s friends?

    Book Dimensions: 6.5in x 5.5in
    Pages: 16
    ISBN: 9781927571026

    2-Page Preview:

Authentic Canadian Content
$7.00

Quantity:
Salmon to Share (6-pack)
Author: Terri Mack
Format: Paperback
  • Level 3

    Illustrated by Bill Helin.

    Back cover book introduction:
    Baby Bear likes to share salmon with
    his friends.
    Who do you think could be some of Baby Bear’s friends?

    Book Dimensions: 6.5in x 5.5in
    Pages: 16
    6-Pack ISBN: 9781927571422

    2-Page Preview:

Authentic Canadian Content
$42.00

Quantity:
Sammy Goes to Residential School
Author: Mary Lingman
Format: Paperback
  • THIS IS THE TROUBLED STORY about a seven-year-old Cree child, Sammy, who is removed from his northern reservation in order to attend residential school. Assigned identification number 122, Sammy experiences many of the humiliations of residential schools, such as the deprivation of one's personal space as well as one's own language and culture.

    Mary Lingman sensitively deals with the personal impact of enforced assimilation of Native children by concentrating on their preparation for education away from home and on the role of the grandparents in that education.

    There are some happy adventures as well, such as Sammy's first plane ride (as a stowaway), a fish-up, chasing whales, making moosomin jam, and winter sports.

$11.95

Quantity:
Santa's Helper
Author: Grant Anderson
Traditional Territory: Métis
Format: Paperback
  • In this delightful Christmas story young Sarah learns a valuable lesson about the importance of giving and sharing, and helping others.

$10.95

Quantity:
Sea Otter Pup (BB)
Author: Victoria Miles
Format: Board Book
  • Follow along as Pup learns how to eat spiky sea urchins, somersault beneath the waves and groom himself. He still needs lots of help from Mother, but one day Pup will be old enough to dive down below the waves and search for food on his own.

    Accompanied by beautiful illustrations and set in the North Pacific, this heartwarming tale is perfect for little ones who still have lots to learn themselves.

$9.95

Quantity:
Sea Otter Pup (PB)
Author: Victoria Miles
Format: Paperback
  • Follow along as Pup learns how to eat spiky sea urchins, somersault beneath the waves and groom himself. He still needs a lot of help from Mother, but one day Pup will be old enough to dive down below the waves and search for food on his own.
    Accompanied by beautiful illustrations and set in the North Pacific, this heartwarming tale is perfect for little ones who still have lots to learn themselves.

$6.95

Quantity:
Seal Song
Format: Hardcover
  • Finn loves to swim with the seals in a secret cove. He arrives at the cove one day and rescues a young seal tangled in netting. Finn wishes the seal could live on land. That night the seals sing. ""No good comes from seal songs,"" says Finn's father. When Sheila, a mysterious girl no one has ever seen before, appears on the cannery docks, the fisher folk are uneasy. They believe the newcomer is a magical selkie, a shape changer.

$19.95

Quantity:
Sort By
Go To   of 7
>

    Contact Us:

  • Suite 1 - 1970 Island Diesel Way
    Nanaimo, BC, Canada, V9S 5W8
    Phone: 250.758.4287
    Toll Free: 1.888.278.2202
© Copyright 2005 - 2017 Strong Nations Publishing Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Shipping Policy.