$88.74
Quantity:

Book Bag Theme: Salmon

Status: In Print
Other Categories: Book Bag Bundles

This book bag theme is about salmon.

Our book bag themes are intended to be "mini themes" that can be sent home with students for a week at a time. Each book bag theme contains both fiction and non fiction titles. Some books are independent reads, some are read alouds, and some provide parent/caregiver support or are an interactive title full of activities. As well, some bags contain a plush toy for families to take with them on either their daily routines or out to special occasions. As an idea to support the sharing of family storytelling, the toy could be photographed at the grocery store or Grandma's birthday party. The photos could then be uploaded to a school and or community page and shared over the years specifically for the journey of that one toy.

- The listed materials for this bundle can be purchased as a full bundle or separately. To purchase the full bundle click on the "Add Full Bundle to Basket" button on the left.
 
- Or to purchase items individually you also click the "Add to Basket" buttons below.

A Tahltan Cookbook Vol. 2: More Than 88 Ways to Prepare Salmon
Format: Hardcover
Text Content Territories: Tahltan;

People of the Tahltan First Nations of northern BC have had generations of practice in preparing salmon. Tahltans have lived along the Stikine River, a salmon-bearing river, forever. A Tahltan Cookbook Vol. 2: More Than 88 Ways to Prepare Salmon and other favourite recipes includes authentic, traditional salmon dishes as well as modern, adapted ones. We invite you to share in our celebration of salmon.

This book is more than just a cookbook. Included in this book are profiles of contributors, stories, and photos.

Educator Information
B.C. Science Supplementary Resource Gr.4- Life Science 

This volume contains over 88 salmon recipes while sharing Indigenous culture in relation to the history of salmon and its importance to First Nations people.

Additional Information
112 pages | 6.00" x 8.75"

See also Talhltan Cookbooks Volume 1 and 3.

 

$17.95

Quantity:
Dipnetting With Dad
Artists:
Kevin Easthope
Format: Hardcover
Text Content Territories: Secwepemc (Shuswap);

BUMP, BUMP - SLAP, river sockeye salmon are pulled onto shore!
Set in the beautiful landscape of the Cariboo Chilcotin region, DIPNETTING WITH DAD is a delightful and colourful story of a father teaching his son the Secwepemc method of fishing known as dipnetting. Together they visit the sweat lodge, mend the nets, select the best fishing spot and catch and pack their fish through rugged bush back to the family home for traditional preparation. In his first book, Williams Lake Indian Band member Willie Sellars captures family values, the importance of storytelling, community living and coming of age in one of BC's oldest cultures. Debut artist Kevin Easthope's contemporary and dynamic illustrations bring the characters to life as they jump off the page and pull you into their world.

Additional Information
48 pages | 9.84" x 8.58"

$19.95

Quantity:
Salmon Stream
Authors:
Carol Reed-Jones
Format: Paperback
Named a prestigious CBC/NSTA Outstanding Science Trade Book, this is a poetic yet accurate description of the life cycle of salmon. For kids, it is fun and eye-opening. For teachers, it is a valuable supplement to a unit on water, fish and ocean animals, and the life cycle. Fast-paced prose and brilliant illustrations follow the salmon from their form as eggs in a stream to the wide ocean, eventually making a hazardous journey home to their stream of origin. As in her earlier best-selling book, The Tree in the Ancient Forest, author Carol Reed-Jones uses cumulative verse--a literary technique that is not only enjoyable but suggests how interconnected salmon are with their habitat. At the back is a section on salmon facts and what makes a good habitat for them, teaching the basics of ecology and why clean streams and waters are so important.

(ages 6-12)
$13.95

Quantity:
The Journey of Dog Salmon
Format: Paperback
Text Content Territories: Nuu-chah-nulth (Nootka);
Dog Salmon is the bully of the river and is taught how important it is to respect others. The legend also integrates the natural salmon cycle.
$9.95

Quantity:
A Salmon for Simon
Authors:
Betty Waterton
Artists:
Ann Blades
Format: Paperback
Text Content Territories: First Nations;

B.C. Science Supplementary Resource: Gr.1-Life Science

Winner of the Governor General's award and the Canadian Library Association's Amelia Frances Howard-Gibbon
Illustrator's award when it was first published in 1979.

This simple story of a boy and a fish delivers a subtle environmental message that will resonate with readers. Simon, a native boy, has been trying all summer to catch a salmon. He's about to give up when a bald eagle suddenly drops a big coho into a clam hole right before his eyes. But when Simon discovers that the salmon is alive, he no longer wants to keep it. It's too strong and beautiful. He'd rather set it free, which means he has to figure out how to get the heavy fish back to the ocean.

Additional Information
32 pages | 7.63" x 8.75"

$6.95

Quantity:
P'esk'a and the First Salmon Ceremony
Authors:
Scot Ritchie
Format: Hardcover

It’s the day of the first salmon ceremony, and P'ésk'a is excited to celebrate. His community, the Sts'ailes people, give thanks to the river and the salmon it brings by commemorating the first salmon of the season.

Framed as an exploration of what life was like one thousand years ago, P'ésk'a and the First Salmon Ceremony describes the customs of the Sts'ailes people, an indigenous group who have lived on the Harrison River in British Columbia for the last 10,000 years. Includes an introductory letter from Chief William Charlie, an illustrated afterword and a glossary.

$18.95

In Re-Print
S is for Salmon: A Pacific Northwest Alphabet
Authors:
Hannah Viano
Format: Hardcover
In this beautiful ABC book, C is for Crab; D is for Douglas fir; and E is for Eagle. Based on Pacific Northwest artist Hannah Viano’s regionally themed paper-cut art, this lovely children’s book sheds a new light on the ABCs that will appeal to young and old alike. Fans of Nikki McClure and Kate Endle will appreciate the beautiful handmade appeal of this book.
$19.99

Quantity:

    Contact Us:

  • Suite 1 - 1970 Island Diesel Way
    Nanaimo, BC, Canada, V9S 5W8
    Phone: 250.758.4287
    Toll Free: 1.888.278.2202
© Copyright 2005 - 2018 Strong Nations Publishing Inc. All Rights Reserved. Privacy Policy. Shipping Policy.